2017 RGSAM

The Rio Grande Symposium on Advanced Materials (RGSAM) is a general technical meeting of materials researchers in the Rio Grande geographic region. It is an outgrowth of the Joint Technical Meetings of the New Mexico Section of the American Ceramic Society and the New Mexico Section of the Materials Research Society initiated in 1989. These meetings, sub-titled “Ceramics and Advanced Materials: Symposia and Poster Session,” proved to be quite popular among materials researchers in the Rio Grande geographic region. Attendance typically ranged between 75 and 150 people presenting 30 to 50 presentations, which were frequently used as a local warm-up for national meetings. An important aspect of this symposium is that it has been, and continues to be a venue for presentations by students from regional universities. In 1997, the Albuquerque Chapter of ASM International joined with the NM Section of the American Ceramics Society to host the meeting which began its new name, “The Rio Grande Regional Symposium on Advanced Materials.” Reflecting the multidisciplinary nature of materials research presented at RGSAM, other societies soon joined to host the symposium. The New Mexico Chapter of the American Vacuum Society organized the RGSAM in 2013, followed by the Central New Mexico Local Section of the American Chemical Society in 2015. This meeting hopes to reach out to a broad base of support among local materials societies and will be a focal point for the exchange of technical information in the Rio Grande geographic region well into the 21st century.

Kreidl Lecture

At the core of this meeting is the Kreidl Memorial Lecture, honoring the career achievements of Norbert J. KreidlNorbert Kreidl, a remarkable and indefatigable glass scientist who spent his final years as a consultant based in Santa Fe, New Mexico.

The Kreidl Lecture has featured several prominent ceramists and glass scientists.

Kreidl Lecture Abstract

Heterogeneous Stress Relaxation in Tin Thin Films: Whiskers, Hillocks, and Beyond

When tin thin films are stressed, the film microstructures can become unstable, leading to the formation of long single crystal whiskers that can create short circuits in electronic circuits and destroy MEMS devices in electronic assemblies. The conditions for whisker formation are inherently local as indicted by their frequency: there can be typically 1 whisker for every 103-106 film grains. Stress relaxation occurs by diffusion to specific grain boundaries in the plane of the film, leading to an out-of-plane relaxation, with hillocks being formed when grain boundary migration accompanies growth out of the plane of the film and whiskers in the absence of grain boundary migration. In this talk, I will discuss the microstructural characteristics for specific grains to form whiskers in β-Sn films based on our recent whisker growth model establishing a relationship between grain boundary sliding limited Coble creep, surface grain geometry, and film stress for different stress conditions, including for thermal cycling and cyclic bending. Finite element simulations of stresses induced by room temperature aging and thermal cycling of textured microstructures also provide insight into the role of elastic and thermoelastic anisotropy in creating preferred whisker formation sites. Taken together with experiments on films with different textures and under different conditions of stress, these models suggest a strategy for identifying the effects of local microstructure and β-Sn anisotropy on whisker formation. If these predictions are accurate, whisker growth risk may be effectively reduced by engineering film microstructures and textures for specific applications and stress conditions. Finally, our research on stress relaxation in β-Sn can be put into the broader context of stress relaxation processes in other metal thin films as a function of microstructure, film geometry, and stress conditions.

Kreidl Lecturer

Carol Handwerker, Reinhardt Schuhmann Jr. Professor of Materials Engineering
Purdue University, West Lafayette Indiana

2017 Kreidl Lecturer Carol Handwerker, Purdue University

Carol Handwerker is the Reinhardt Schuhmann, Jr. Professor of Materials Engineering, and Environmental and Ecological Engineering (courtesy) at Purdue University, West Lafayette.

Prior to joining Purdue in 2005 she served as the Chief of the NIST Metallurgy Division for 9 years and a NIST group leader and metallurgist for the prior 12 years where she led measurement programs relating to the manufacturing and performance of electronic, magnetic, photonic, and structural materials used in a wide variety of industries. Her research areas include:

  • developing innovative processing strategies and technologies for next-generation microelectronics, solar cells, and printed electronics,
  • integrating sustainability in the design of new electronic materials, processes, and products.
  • predicting the reliability of lead-free solder interconnects, particularly for high performance, military, and aerospace electronic systems,
  • identifying and implementing strategies to move R&D into manufacturing and commercialization, using roadmapping, techno-economic analysis, and formation of self-assembling socio-ecological systems.

In all of these areas, she, her students, and her colleagues at Purdue and NIST have worked closely with various industry sectors and their stakeholders to transform R&D into practice. For example, with iNEMI (the International Electronics Manufacturing Initiative), an industry consortium of over 90 companies and organizations, she has played important roles in the world-wide conversion to high-volume manufacturing with Pb-free solders, in roadmapping the path to sustainable electronics, and in defining and filling the gaps in high performance interconnects. In electronics, she is the Director of the Purdue Tuskegee NSF Integrative Education and Research Traineeship program (IGERT) on Sustainable Electronics (supporting 30 two-year fellowships over five years with 20 participating faculty), a member of the iNEMI Environmental Leadership Steering Committee, along with Intel, Dell, Lenovo, and others, and co-leads (with Seagate) the iNEMI project on Value Recovery from End-of-Life Hard Disk Drives. Prof. Handwerker is also a member of the DoE Critical Materials Institute leadership team, focused on accelerating technology transition of CMI R&D. She holds a B.A. in art history from Wellesley College, and S.B., S.M., and Sc.D degrees in materials science and engineering from MIT.

Prior Kreidl Lecturers

William D. Kingery, University of Arizona
Delbert E. Day, University of Missouri – Rolla
Arthur H. Heuer, Case Western Reserve University
Don L. Kendall, University of New Mexico
David A. Payne, University of Illinois – Urbana-Champaign
Joseph H. Simmons, University of Florida
Robert E. Newnham, Penn State University
Anthony F. Giamei, United Technologies Research Center
Gary Messing, Penn State University
Anthony G. Evans, Princeton University
Zhigang Suo, Princeton University
Nathan S. Lewis, California Institute of Technology
Subra Suresh, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Robert O. Ritchie, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
David R. Clarke, University of California at Santa Barbara
Steve Brueck, University of New Mexico
John Parise, SUNY Stony Brook
Kurt Sickafus, Los Alamos National Laboratory
Richard LeSar, Iowa State University
Uzi Landman, Georgia Institute of Technology
Carlo Pantano, Penn State University
Harry Atwater, California Institute of Technology
Diana Farkas, Virginia Tech
Michael J. Cima, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Ray Baughman, University of Texas at Dallas
Carol Handwerker, Purdue University